Working From Home Has Changed My Life

Before my daughter Madeline was born, 3 1/2 years ago I had never even thought for a second that I would ever work from home.  I had gone to college and majored in psycholgy and thought that some day I would be working in a mental health facility to help children.

This thought drastically changed when I became pregnant with my little girl.  I knew there was no way I could ever work outside of the home and leave my baby all day long, it literally broke my heart to even think about doing that.

I know that there are so many mothers out there that feel the same way, but they may not know that they do have the option of working from home.  When I first considered working from home, I knew it was going to be a long journey.  In the past when I thought about finding jobs from home, I honestly thought that the majority of them were scams.

Much to my surprise I was very wrong!  All of my negative thoughts about finding legitimate work from home jobs changed when I found one critical website, that provided a plethora of information from their forum on work at home jobs and it provided a daily listing of jobs you could do from home.

Once I began searching and applying to all different types of work at home jobs, I literally found a great job after about 6 months.  The job was working as an online tutor.  I do not have my teaching degree and I have never tutored in the past, but the only real requirements were that you had a certain number of college credits and you were still attending a college and would eventually graduate.

Now don’t get me wrong, you certainly do NOT have to have a college degree or have even attended college to find a very good work at home job.  I do not want people to be discouraged and think you must have a degree to get anywhere, that simply is NOT true.

Now back to my online tutoring job.  This was my first real work at home job and it did not require me to be on the phone or using a web cam or microphone.  I am unable to work any jobs from home that do require the use of a phone because I have 2 small children and that simply would not work.

I am still working as an online tutor today and have been doing this wonderful job for over 3 years.  This job is a real blessing to me and my family because we all know that making even a little extra money is a huge help!

I have worked many other work at home jobs and I will plan on discussing these jobs in my next post on Wednesday.

6 Responses to Working From Home Has Changed My Life

  1. jj says:

    Hi, I have a 6 month old so I would be interested in a non-phone job as well. What kind of tutoring job do you have that doesn’t require speaking?

    • Hello,

      First of all I want to thank you for checking out my new blog 🙂 I know that it is impossible to have any kind of job that requires speaking when you have little ones.

      The tutoring company that I work for is called Brainfuse (www.brainfuse.com) I do not have to speak to any of my students with a microphone like some online tutoring companies require.

      This company has their own software that you download and you type to the students on their white board. It is very easy to download and use. The lessons are all loaded for you on this system. You simply go to the grade you are teaching and the lessons are there.

      This makes it pretty simple because you do not have to come up with any lesson plans on your own. At the end of each lesson you write up a short lesson report to let the student’s parents and teacher know how they did.

      You also go through a training one time that lasts for 2 or 3 hours. During this training you are only chatting to a manager to learn the white board and how to learn to tutor the students properly.

      Please feel free to ask me any more questions that you may have. If you are interested in applying to Brainfuse then you should send your resume to: jobs@brainfuse.com

  2. jj says:

    hi, thanks for responding. i’ll check into that. sounds interesting…

  3. Great, please let me know if it works out or if you need more help.

  4. radish4ever says:

    Great information! How many hours per week do you work and, if you don’t mind me asking, what is the pay structure like? Do you tutor specific subjects, or grade levels, or?? Thanks for this!

    • Hi and thanks for your great questions 🙂 I work anywhere from 2-10 hours a week. I do suppose it is possible to get more hours, but it depends on your availability. After you are hired, you mark on a chart the hours and days you are available. The more hours and days you can work, the more sessions you can get! You get paid 10.00 per 1 hour session. There are some sessions that are 1 1/2 hours long too. I only tutor reading and math, for reading I tutor grades 2nd-12th and for math I tutor 2nd-5th. You will also get a chart where you check off subjects that you are interested in tutoring and you will be sent a test for each of these subjects. After you take the tests, an administrator will determine what subjects and grades you will approved to tutor.

      I would also like to mention that Brainfuse does PA (Prearranged) and IA (Instant Access) sessions. The PA sessions are scheduled sessions. These are either given to you by an administrator or you can get PA sessions from other tutors that sub out their sessions. IA sessions are sessions that you will just get if a student needs home work help. You have to take a test if you want to be an IA tutor, there is also a basic test you need to take for PA too.

      I apologize if this sounds confusing, but once you start working for Brainfuse, you easily can catch on. You can also sub out sessions if something comes up. Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Leave a Reply

